The Annual Convention of the Diocese of Chicago meets in the fall each year to elect officers, consider legislation, hear reports from agencies and organizations, participate in learning opportunities, enjoy fellowship, and gather for common worship in daily prayer and the Convention Eucharist.

The 2019 convention will be held November 22-23 at the Westin Chicago Lombard.

For more information, please contact Rebecca Elfring-Roberts at 312.751.6726.

Standing Committee

The Standing Committee of the Diocese of Chicago is a council of advice for the bishop. We serve as a sounding board for any topic or issues that the bishop would like to address.

The Standing Committee is elected by representatives from every congregation in the Diocese, gathered in Diocesan Convention. Every Episcopal Diocese (the regional body of the Episcopal Church, under the authority of a bishop) has a Standing Committee, with responsibilities assigned by the Canons of the Episcopal Church. A majority of the Standing Committees of all dioceses have to consent when any diocese elects a new bishop. If a diocese does not have a bishop, the Standing Committee has the authority to make certain decisions for the diocese.

To be ordained as a deacon or priest in the Episcopal Church requires the approval of the Standing Committee of the Diocese, so in the Diocese of Chicago, the Standing Committee works closely with the Commission on Ministry from the time a person is nominated by their congregation until they are ordained. See the Commission on Ministry's website for a full description of this process. They are also legally required to approve decisions about clergy leaving the Episcopal Church for any cause.

In the Diocese of Chicago, the members of the Standing Committee elect a President each year, who is also automatically a member of the Trustees of the Endowment during their term.

2019 Standing Committee

  • Eric Biddy - President, St. Christopher's, Oak Park, term ending 2019
  • Maria Giraldo - St. Helena, Burr Ridge, term ending 2019
  • Jeannette DeFriest - Canterbury Northwestern, term ending 2020
  • Rory Smith - St. Thomas, Chicago, term ending 2020
  • Lisa Kerpan - Secretary, Christ Church, Winnetka, term ending 2021
  • Anne Jolly - St. Gregory, Deerfield, term ending 2021


Meeting Schedule

Meetings are typically held during the week, from 6 - 8 pm, at the Episcopal Diocese of Chicago, St. James Commons.

Meeting Minutes

Summaries of the Standing Committee meetings will be posted to this page as they are available. View the meeting summaries for the following meetings:  September 2019July 2019June 2019, May 2019, April 2019, March 2019, February 2019January 2019, December 2018November 2018, October 2018, September 2018, June 2018, May 2018, April 2018, March 2018, February 2018January 2018, December 2017, November 2017 and October 2017.


Bishop and Trustees

The Bishop and Trustees hold title to and oversee the use of the real property used by the missions of the Diocese. They approve purchases, sales, construction projects involving mortgages and real estate and the diocesan budget. The Bishops and Trustees also hold title to the St. James Commons.

Twelve trustees serve three-year terms; each year's class includes one clergy and three laypeople.

Meeting Schedule

The Bishops and Trustees meet bimonthly on the third Tuesday of the month. The July meeting is held on the third Saturday of the month at one of the diocese's mission properties.

Diocesan Council

The Diocesan Council administers and carries on the missionary, educational and social work of the diocese. The Council receives and administers funds for diocesan program and administration, implements work assigned by Diocesan Convention and initiates new work between annual meetings of Diocesan Convention. The Council has charge of preparing a proposed budget for the administration and program of the diocese and submitting it to Bishop and Trustees for review and approval.

The council includes one priest or deacon and one lay person from each of the diocese's ten deaneries. The bishop and chairs of diocesan commissions serve as members ex officio.

Members are nominated by their deaneries for three-year terms and elected by Diocesan Convention. The Council meets at least four times a year between September 1 and June 30, usually on the second Saturday of the month.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held the second Saturday of the month from 10 am - 12:30 pm at different locations throughout the diocese.