2019 Diocesan Convention


The 182nd Annual Convention of the Diocese of Chicago will take place on Friday, November 22 and Saturday, November 23 at the Westin Chicago Lombard at the Yorktown Center in Lombard.

Convention is the annual business meeting of the diocese, during which we elect leaders, consider resolutions and hear reports from across the diocese and the wider church. More than 500 people attend convention each year.

Voting participants at convention include the clergy of the diocese and lay representatives elected from each congregation. The gathering also includes ex-officio members, who are entitled to seat and voice, and many visitors. 

Download the preliminary convention schedule, which includes times for worship, business sessions, learning opportunities, and children's and youth programs.


The Westin Chicago Lombard holds a quantity of rooms at the diocesan convention rate ($121 per night, plus tax) that are available until October 31. Please use the convention registration link to book online or call 1.888.627.9031 and ask for the Episcopal Diocese of Chicago convention rate.

Reservations must be guaranteed by one night's deposit (room and tax) on a major credit card and may be modified or cancelled online.


All convention participants--individuals and groups of clergy, lay delegates, alternate delegates, general attendees, volunteers, youth and children--should register for diocesan convention online.
Early bird discounted registration is $80/person through September 30; $105/person October 1 through October 31. After October 31 please plan to register onsite at $125/person.  Please register using the links below: 
Adult Convention Registration
High School Registration
Youth and Childcare Registration
A limited number of scholarships are available. Please contact Rebecca Elfring-Roberts with questions about registration.

Certification of Delegates

All delegates must be certified by their congregations, campus ministries, or the youth ministry office to have voice and vote at convention. Registering for convention does not constitute certification.
Specific certification forms must be used for campus ministries, congregations and youth representatives. Once completed, the forms may be scanned and submitted by email or fax (312.787.5872) and are due to the Secretary of Convention by September 30. 

Please contact Louisa McKellaston with certification questions.


At convention, members of the Standing Committee, the Bishop and Trustees, and the Cathedral Chapter will be elected, along with deputies to the 2021 General Convention in Baltimore, Maryland. View the nomination forms in English and Spanish. Nominations are due by September 30.



Resolutions to be considered at convention must be received by September 30 and must follow a prescribed format. Please view the Guidelines for Submitting Resolutions and sample form in English and Spanish.


The Secretary of Convention requests that reports for commissions, committees and task forces be submitted by September 30. Reports should be submitted as a Word document to convention secretary, Elsie Saldana.

In 2018 reports were submitted by the Antiracism Commission, Archives and Records, Audit Review Committee, The Bishop and Trustees, Clergy Compensation Committee, Clergy Relief Society, Commission on Global Ministry, Commission on Ministry, Congregations Commission, Diocesan Council, Ecumenical and Inter-religious Affairs, Episcopal Charities, Episcopal Church Women, Hispanic Affairs Committee, Hunger Committee, Peace & Justice Committee, Standing Committee, and Trustees of the Endowment. 


Vendors wishing to participate in the exhibit hall at diocesan convention may register for a booth online. For more information contact Louisa McKellaston, exhibit hall manager, by email or phone (312.751.4214) 


Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteers are needed for on-site support throughout convention. Please use the online registration link and select "volunteer".


Workshop topics, times and locations will be listed as soon as they are available.



Contact Angel Langley or Jihan Murray-Smith, co-chairs of the Convention Planning Committee if you have any general questions about Convention.