2018 Diocesan Convention


The 181st Annual Convention of the Diocese of Chicago will be held Friday, November 16  and Saturday, November 17 at the Westin Lombard Yorktown Center in Lombard.

Journalist Ray Suarez will be the keynote speaker and will speak to the future of the church. As a broadcast journalist for Al Jazeera America, NPR and PBS NewsHour, Suarez is known for his reporting and expertise on issues including demographics, race, and religion. A critically-acclaimed author, his books include The Old Neighborhood: What We Lost in the Great Suburban Migration: 1966-1999; The Holy Vote: The Politics of Faith in America; and a companion volume to the documentary series for PBS, Latino Americans: The 500-Year Legacy That Shaped a Nation.  Suarez lives in Philadelphia with his family.

View a preliminary convention schedule.

Convention Registration

Para ayuda en español, contacta a Karin Gutierrez por teléfono 312.751.4219, o email.
All convention participants--individuals and groups of clergy, lay delegates, alternate delegates, general attendees, volunteers, youth and children--should be registered for diocesan convention online.
New this year:
* Registration fees include Friday Fun & Fellowship (dessert and dancing from 7-9:30 pm) and a Saturday networking lunch in the Junior Ballroom
* Note: there will not be a dinner reception on Friday night. Please have dinner on your own and join us from 7-9:30 for dessert and dancing.
Advance registration is $80/person through September 30; $105/person October 1 through October 31.  Advance registration closes October 31. After October 31, please plan to register onsite at $125/person.
Please register using the links below:   
2018 Diocesan Convention Registration
High School Registration
Youth and Childcare Registration

A limited number of scholarships are available. Please contact Karin Gutierrez with questions about registration.

Hotel Reservations 

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Westin Lombard Yorktown Center. The room rate is $121.00 plus tax and is available through November 1. Reservations must be guaranteed by one night's deposit (room and tax) on a major credit card.  Reserve your room online or call Westin Reservations at 1.888.627.9031 and mention the Episcopal Diocese of Chicago for the convention rate.

Nominations, RESOLUTIONS  & Reports to Convention

At convention, members of the Standing Committee, the Bishop and Trustees, and the Cathedral Chapter will be elected. View the candidate statements in English and Spanish.

Convention will also consider and vote on resolutions. View the proposed resolutions in English (Spanish to come).

Commissions, committees and task forces of the diocese are required to submit annual reports for review at Diocesan Convention. View the 2018 reports in English and Spanish.



All delegates must be certified by their congregations, campus ministries, or the youth ministry office to have voice and vote at convention. Registering for convention does not constitute certification.

Specific certification forms are used for campus ministries, congregations (parish and mission), and youth and are available online. The forms may be submitted by email or fax (312.787.5872).
Certifications were due to the Secretary of Convention by September 30. 

Please contact Karin Gutierrez with certification questions.

Workshops & Learning Opportunities

A variety of workshops will be offered on Friday and Saturday. Watch for updates.


Vendors wishing to participate in the exhibit hall at diocesan convention may register for a booth online
If you have any questions, please contact Louisa McKellaston, exhibit hall manager, by email or phone (312.751.4214)