2014 Diocesan Convention


The 177th Annual Convention of the Diocese of Chicago took place on Friday, November 21 and Saturday, November 22 at the Westin Lombard Yorktown Center in Lombard.

The theme of this year's convention was Telling Our Stories, and featured opportunities to connect, share experiences and learn from congregations across our diocese.

Social media

This year's convention hashtag was #diochi14. We tweeted at @diocesechicago and posted to Facebook at /episcopalchicago. Be sure to check out #diochi14 on Instagram, too, to view convention photos.


Download the 2015 Budget Overview and Summary.

Keynote speaker

Sara Miles, the founder and director of The Food Pantry, and Director of Ministry at St. Gregory of Nyssa Episcopal Church in San Francisco was the keynote speaker at convention. She joined us to explore what happens when we tell our stories alongside scripture and join together in a journey of revelation.

Her books include City of God, Jesus Freak: Feeding Healing Raising the Dead and Take This Bread: A Radical Conversion. She speaks, preaches and leads workshops around the country, and her writing has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, the New Yorker, and on National Public Radio.

Visit Sara’s website or follow her on Twitter at @SaraMilesSF to learn more.


Bishop and Trustees

Judith A. Doran
Margaret (Peg) Williams

Michael J. Mattson
Bradley P. Summers

Standing Committee

Jeanne Leinbach Stewart

Derrick Dawson

Questions? Please email Courtney Reid.


Bishop Lee made these appointments with the concurrence of the convention:

Disciplinary Board
Appointed for 3-year term expiring 2017
The Rev. Larry Green, St. Chrysostom, Chicago
Ms. Claire Hartfield, St. Paul and the Redeemer, Chicago

Appointed for 2-year term expiring November 2016
Chicago North Deanery:  The Very Rev. John David van Dooren
Elgin Deanery:  The Very Rev. M.E. Eccles
Evanston Deanery:  The Very Rev. Kristin White
Rockford Deanery:  The Very Rev. Stacy Walker-Frontjes

2015 Commission on Ministry
The Rt. Rev. Jeffrey D. Lee, Chairman
Ms. Victoria Garvey, Diocese of Chicago, Ex-officio
The Rev. Sue Nebel, Liaison, Leadership Team for Diaconate – Ex-officio
The Rev. Chere Bates, St. Benedict, Bolingbrook
The Rev. Amity Carrubba, Episcopal Service Corps
The Rev. Victor Conrado, St. Mark, Glen Ellyn
Ms. Antoinette Daniels, St. Paul and the Redeemer, Chicago
Ms. Barrie Gibby, Emmanuel, Rockford
The Rev. Christopher Griffin, St. Martin, Chicago
Ms. Claire Hartfield, St. Paul and the Redeemer, Chicago
The Rev. Heidi Haverkamp, St. Benedict, Bolingbrook
Mr. Steve Heyman, St. Paul and the Redeemer, Chicago
Ms. Sandra Lowe, St. James Cathedral, Chicago
Ms. Melissa Perrin, Holy Comforter, Kenilworth
The Rev. Christopher Powell, Christ Church, Winnetka
The Rev. Mark Ramirez, St. Barnabas, Glen Ellyn
The Rev. Clayton Thomason, Grace, Oak Park
The Rev. Kristin White, St. Augustine, Wilmette

Diocesan Council
Appointed for 3-year term expiring November 2017

Chicago South Deanery
The Rev. Julianne Buenting, The Church Home at Montgomery Place, Chicago
Ms. Judi Jordan, St. Paul and the Redeemer

Joliet Deanery
The Rev. Nicholas Romans, Transfiguration, Palos Park
Mr. Robert Meehan, St. John’s Church, Lockport

Oak Park Deanery
The Rev. Pete Campbell, Christ Church, River Forest
Mr. Roger Herrin, Grace Hinsdale

Episcopal Service Corps Board for 2015
The Rev. Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows

Trustees of the Endowment Fund of the Diocese of Chicago
Mr. David Beecken, St. James Cathedral, Chicago
Chairperson (annual appointment by Bishop and President of Standing Committee)


Download the Convention Reports that were reviewed by Diocesan Convention 2014.


All resolutions considered by Diocesan Convention 2014 were approved. Please download the resolutions in English and in Spanish.

Questions? Please email Chancellor Todd Young.


View a complete listing of convention workshops.